IVB\’s Home Theater and Home Automation

You don\’t have to spend a lot for that smarthome.

Infrastructure work gets done

Posted by IVB on April 18, 2006

Well, the last week was somewhat boring in the IVB household. I got the vicious flu that's been going around, so that took me out for a few days. Then, I decided that I needed to improve some of the infastructure now before things got worse. Here's what I did:

1) Install a quiet (1.5 sone) bathroom fan in the ceiling for the media closet, vent to the attic. I'll run a pipe to the exterior wall this upcoming weekend. This alone dropped my closet temps by 8 degrees, and the fan is truly inaudible over the 2 HTPCs.

2) Build out a 3rd HTPC to act as the alternate zone video renderer [TV or DVD in Zones 2 & 3], and as the security camera DVR.

On a token exciting note, I did get a security camera in from tech-home. I got a Sony one, here's a pic. It's pretty dang small. I'll hopefully be able to mount this pointed at the front door, so I can pop up a screen at-will/on doorbell ring. Plus it's got infrared LEDs built-in, so it doesn't need any light.

I'll hopefully be able to get this all up&running in the next 1-2 weeks, and will post pics when i'm done.

EDIT: Dunno why the pics aren't showing, here's the direct links:

http://www.myhometheaterpc.com/wordpress/camera_size_blog.jpg

http://www.myhometheaterpc.com/wordpress/camera_top_size_blog.jpg

2 Responses to “Infrastructure work gets done”

  1. Nutz said

    None of your pics are showing…..!!

  2. IVB said

    Ooops. Sorry about that, dunno why it’s happening. I just edited the original posts to put direct http links in, you’ll have to click on those.

    I’ll see if I can get to the bottom of this ASAP. Thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

 
