IVB\’s Home Theater and Home Automation

You don\’t have to spend a lot for that smarthome.

The Elk is in Beta!

Posted by IVB on July 1, 2006

The Elk is in beta mode! Or is it called Alpha? Whatever, I mounted the 2nd keypad near the front, ran the CAT5e and hooked up to the system, and armed both it & the ADT system today before leaving the house for several hours! And, when I came back, everything was still fine.

The Elk isn’t actually hooked up to the phone lines, as I want to run it for 2-3 weeks to make sure the motion sensors don’t pick up anything outside the house by mistake. I’ve now got them in every room of the house, more for non-security reasons [ie, turn off speakers/lights/etc if there’s no motion and/or there’s no DVD or audio playing in a room for xmins]. But, as long as I got them, I may as well use them. Hopefully all goes well enough to give ADT 30 days notice on 7/31, then flip to elk live on 9/1. By then, I may also have enough time to put in a structured wiring system for the network & phone distribution and clean up the horrors that is my current wiring for the media closet, so it’ll go live with the “right” structure.

I’ve got some “known” issues; can’t figure out how to get both keypads working at the same time. I’m reading the Elk install guide, says something about keypad addresses, yet another thing that’ll take a few reads to get through my thick skull.  I also wired up all the motions as Definition4: Immediate alarm, rather than putting the ones near the doors as Def5:Follower, giving me time to disarm the system.

But, exciting progress nonetheless.

2 Responses to “The Elk is in Beta!”

  1. john said

    I currently have an ademco vista 20se alarm system with 3 keypads. I’m considering getting an elk. I was hoping I could just use the current wiring behind the keypads, but I don’t know what it is. Is it likely to be cat5e, and if not, do elk keypads have to have cat5e, or can they use the alarm wiring that is already there?

  2. IVB said

    Not sure if this cocoontech post is you or another john, but folks that are familiar with the Ademco stuff are replying on this thread:
    http://www.cocoontech.com/index.php?showtopic=4271

Leave a Reply

 
