IVB\’s Home Theater and Home Automation

You don\’t have to spend a lot for that smarthome.

Very primitive Voice Recognition in CQC

Posted by IVB on June 10, 2007

Tee Hee Hee, lookie ma, behold the power of my voice! No hands!

Well, I have 10% accuracy to turn my lights on with a ludicriously simple “lights” command using a $10 VRCommander package (i’m on the free trial as I didn’t want to pony up the $10) and a cheap $15 computer headset/mic.  I can’t get it to recognize “lights off” but “lights on” and “lights” seem to work.

It was all pretty righteously simple, albeit highly inaccurate and pretty fragile. I setup a keymapping in CQC so that it would turn on the lights on a shift-F2, then I setup a command in VRCommander so that when I said “lights on” it would send S-F2 to CQC.

Pretty simplistic, but 2 points of issues so far:
1) VRCommander can’t understand “lights off”, but it can understand “lights on”. But this is from a headset 2″ from my mouth, and I ain’t walkin around with that.
2) In order to do a keystroke command from within CQC, either the Admin Interface or the Interface Viewer needs to have focus. This has a ramification on which PC I put the AP800 at as the HTPC will obviously have video running, and I wouldn’t want the whole VR system to be down just because of that.

#2 isn’t a huge issue, as the server is headless so it letting the AI be the focus program isn’t a problem, but it is point of failure.

Anyhow, i’m just mucking around anyhow until the AP800 driver gets done, at which point i’ll try something better than a $15 headset. I may also see if I can find someone who has Dragon Preferred to see if it can translate a voice command into a keystroke (ie, shift-F2).

But it was geeky cool to see the lights turn on by the sound of my voice 🙂

Here’s 2 screenshots first is of VRCommander, second is CQC.

http://www.myhometheaterpc.com/vrcommander.JPG

http://www.myhometheaterpc.com/keymappings.JPG

Leave a Reply

 
