IVB\’s Home Theater and Home Automation

You don\’t have to spend a lot for that smarthome.

The 1wire temp sensors show me something I didn’t know

Posted by IVB on June 17, 2007

I finally put in the VK011 mini-temp sensor board. Great advantage of that is that since it was so cheap, I got 4 sensors for $75 shipped.  I actually learned something too after mounting them:

I put 2 sensors in: my basement server room, and the crawlspace. Turns out those rooms aren’t nearly as cold as I thought. The server room wasn’t that surprising, but the 70degree temp in the crawlspace at 11:00pm at night surprised me. Now I realize why the media closet isn’t getting that cool – it’s drawing 70deg temp in.

I’m going to hunt down an old style thermometer to verify those temps, it certainly feels colder than 70deg down there, but i’ve been known to be vastly off temp wise before. If it really is 70, I may start thinking about how to pull in outside air – it’s 54 deg outside right now.

Leave a Reply

 
